home decor: dreaming of tables and chairs

When we moved into our home three years ago we didn’t own much furniture. We had to get a lot of stuff with not that much money. In a moment of bad judgment I saw a sale on a table and I snatched it up. 

Now I’m not a fan of circular dinning room tables. I like them in other people’s homes but not mine. And there isn’t a good reason for this.. it’s just some quirky dislike I have. So in that moment of bad judgment we got a circular table. We have an open living plan so the kitchen, dinning room and living room are connected. For the sake of good flow I thought it was our only option – a circular table. And it did provide for good flow BUT three years later and I’m still not a fan. Those three years have also given me a new perspective and I realize that we can still have that good flow with a rectangular table so someday I hope that happens. I know it won’t be anytime soon but I’m already giddy over the thought that one day that damn circular table will be gone.

I’m not certain what our new dinning room table will look. Maybe something a bit more rustic in a wood grain that isn’t espresso. It would be nice to break up some of the repetition of dark wood we have in the space. And I would like a bench on one side with fancier chairs on the other side. Though I like the look of more industrial chairs in metal as well. Acrylic chairs, I love those as well. Whatever we pick I will certainly be mixing it up while keeping the look light and spacious. 

via Living Etc.

via Living Etc.

via Living Etc.

via Living Etc.

Tags: , , , , ,

One Response to “home decor: dreaming of tables and chairs”

  1. home decor: mini makeover « Says:

    […] decorated I went about it all the wrong way. I’ve discussed those issues before both here and here. The dinning room table that I hate. The couch that was too large so I ended up returning it two […]

Leave a comment