crafts: what to do with the tea tin

cute tea tin

Back in April I wrote this post. You remember, right? The one about tea tins and my inability to part ways with a little tin I had picked up in London years ago. Well I have a desk now which means I have a true space for crafting. And because I know you’re are dying to hear all about what my first project was I’m back with my report.

Feel free to let out that sigh of relief.

Granted, I think it’s all pretty self explanatory. I covered one of the tins with fabulous paper, along with another tin I had gotten with a watch (again, something I picked-up many years ago). They are small enough that those random strips of scrapped wrapping paper now have a purpose. Which I love because I tend to adore the wrapping paper I purchase and now I get to keep a little bit for myself and have it on display in a useful way.

So there you have it, my dilemma of what to do with my tea tins has been solved. Something else that might be clever would be covering the tin in gorgeous paper and then using it as a flower vase. Sorta combining the two ideas I presented in my original post.

Tah-dah.. what do you think?

tea tin craft project

Tags: , , ,

7 Responses to “crafts: what to do with the tea tin”

  1. SAJ Says:

    love! Such a nifty idea. What did you use as adhesive? I would also recommend using the tins as gift boxes. Not really ideal since the purpose is you keeping them for your self but if ever you find you have too many . . . 🙂

  2. Charissa - The Gifted Blog Says:

    Wonderful. And the previous comment made me smile. : )

    It feels so good to find a useful purpose for the things we collect in our lives. I’m glad you have a way to enjoy your tins and wrapping paper! I remember that bird paper from one of your older gift-wrapping posts!

  3. beautifuliving Says:

    I love SAJs idea of using the tins as a way of gift wrapping something. Brilliant (and an idea I might have to steal). Would love to see your take on it. 🙂

  4. beautifuliving Says:

    LOVE the idea of using the tin as a gift box!!

    I used a spray adhesive but I didn’t love the result. Next time I’d probably do the spraying outside allowing me to pull the can further away (and possible avoiding the splatter marks I got in spots). Or I’d do a combo of glue stick with Elmers clear glue on the seams.

  5. SAJ Says:

    Ah! Good to know about the adhesive. Bookmarking this idea 🙂

  6. CPR Says:

    Love this idea! Where did you find the paper you used? Its so cute!

  7. beautifuliving Says:

    I get a lot of my paper from a store in the New York area called Kates Paperie (www.katespaperie.com). It is one of those stores where you purchase the paper by the sheet. That has to be such a rip off but I’m addicted to the stuff. You can also try Paper Source (www.paper-source.com). I think both of those papers are by Snow and Graham.

Leave a Reply

