party time!

Make A Wish, birthday matches

Make A Wish, birthday matches

Graycen’s birthday celebration was a blast! It was so fun to watch as he explored EVERYTHING. Not a single thing went untouched or unlicked – he literally licked every type of candy we laid out. Yet he actually refused to eat any of it which is funny since I feared he might eat too much candy. He also refused to eat his birthday cake but the rest of us chowed down while he played with his balloons. He never opened his gift, it seemed he just had no interest. In fact the gift ended up sitting around the house for a few days before I finally did the honors of unwrapping it myself. But despite my sons silliness it was clear he loved everything.

As I mentioned in a previous post, I got a great deal of my inspiration from the Dr. Seuss book – Happy Birthday To You! I don’t recall my mother ever reading Dr. Seuss to me as a child so through my son I am discovering his great works for the first time. This book gave me a lot of great material. Here go some party details (though I have to apologize for never getting a photo of the completed table)…

“Today,” laughs the Bird, “eat whatever you want.

Today no one tells you you cawnt or you shawnt.

And, today, you don’t have to be tidy or neat.

If you wish, you may eat with both hands and both feet.

So get in there and munch. Have a big munch-er-oo!

Today is your birthday! Today you are you!”

golden nugget gum, my childhood favorite

golden nugget gum, my childhood favorite

festive straws

festive straws

the birthday boy playing with his goodies

the birthday boy playing with his goodies

And here comes your cake! Cooked by Snookers and Snookers,

The Official Katroo Happy Birthday Cake Cookers.

And Snookers and Snookers, I’m happy to say,

Are the only cake cookers who cook cakes today

Made of guaranteed, certified strictly Grad A

Peppermint cucumber sausage-paste butter!

Graycen's birthday spread (minus some additional goodies, his gift and the balloons)

Graycen's birthday spread. A few more goodies were added but I never got another picture. We added some additional goodies, his gift and ten balloons.

happy birthday graycen

happy birthday graycen

After a few hours of chatting and munching the celebration ended with some good old fashion balloon playing. Who knew the cheap balloons would be such a hit with both my son and his guests.

Beautiful Living - Balloons

birthday balloons

the end

the end

Tags: , , , , ,

3 Responses to “party time!”

  1. ericka Says:

    amazing, R! gorgeous.

  2. Marcelina Says:

    What a precious time. Your eye for detail is impeccable and simply chic. Happy Belated Birthday Graycen!

  3. thegiftedblog Says:

    Augh! I love it!

    I didn’t realize how the table of goodies was inspired by the book. That is super fun. The table looks great, and I love that it was the right height for your son to explore.

    Look forward to your guest post about his present!

Leave a Reply

