september recipe: biscuits

the start of something really good - drop biscuits

the start of something really good - drop biscuits

It looks like I went a week without a single post in here. That makes me sad but I have been busy and the time really wasn’t there so what can I say. I guess there really is a first for everything.

Now, on to better stuff – like the beautiful biscuits I made in September. My husband loved them so much I made them twice in the span of 7 days. Each batch yielded 10 biscuits and when you factor in that we are a household of two adults and one toddler (said toddler refused to even taste the biscuit) you’ll soon realize this is ridiculous and over the top gluttony.

I swear, my husband made me do it!

Some months back I was sitting around one weekend and started watching America’s Test Kitchen. Does anyone else ever catch that show? Well in this particular episode they made this holiday ham that looked phenominal. I’m a wuss about things like that sooo no, I did not attempt the holiday ham. Instead I made the side dish that accompanied that amazing ham – drop biscuits. Not sure what drop biscuits are.. basically they are homemade biscuits made in half the time. They looked scrumptious so I made a mental note to try them out and last month I finally did. I made one edit with my second batch that made a world of difference and I think it really perfected the recipe (for my taste pallet). Now I have mentioned what a non-Foodie I am so it probably comes at no suprise that I think the biscuits at places like Red Lobster or Popeyes Chicken are delicious. Not that I frequent either place very often but when I do make a visit I usually nosh on more then one biscuit. For me, the buttery yet slightly salty top is divine and the drop biscuits on the first go didn’t have that. My husband loved them but I thought they were just ‘ehh. On the second batch I buttered the tops when they came out of the oven (just as the recipe called) but this time I also sprinkled a smiddgen of salt. My husband and I both agreed, that minor change really perfected them.

If you’re looking for a super easy recipe to accompany your Sunday supper or a holiday meal – TRY THESE. They litterally take 15 minutes to assemble and 15 minutes to cook. Super easy. Now these first images don’t look so tasty but this really is the look you are going for. The recipe calls for mixing cold buttermilk with melted butter. The coldness of the buttermilk causes the melted butter to clump up, those clumps will then melt in the baking process to give your biscuits that yummy butter flavor.

cold butter milk and melted butter

cold buttermilk and melted butter

so not yummy looking.. but it is the look you are going for

so not yummy looking.. but it is the look you are going for

my biscuits ready for baking

my biscuits ready for baking

lightly salted buttery biscuits

lightly salted buttery biscuits

yummy drop biscuits

yummy drop biscuits

try these!

try these!

*IMPORTANT TIP – The instructions suggest using a measuring cup to portion off each biscuit. Make sure you grease the cup well between each biscuit. Instead of oil I used a cooking spray with butter flavoring. That explains that yellow butter appearance on my unbaked biscuits in the photo above.

Tags: , ,

5 Responses to “september recipe: biscuits”

  1. The Sale Rack Says:

    those look so good!! you are so right! the biscuits at Red Lobster and KFC are amazing!!!

  2. The Sale Rack Says:

    i was so inspired by your post that i made my own biscuits over the weekend…though I just used biscuick. nothing fancy. but they transported me back to my southern roots if only for the morning.

  3. beautifuliving Says:

    I don’t think I’ve had biscuick since High School Home Ec but man, I suddenly have a taste for them. Hope they hit the spot.

  4. beautifuliving Says:

    Aren’t the expensive?? Not sure the lady of The Sale’s Rack should be encouraging an afternoon stroll through such a place! 😉

    But you know I’m totally going to stop in know, right?

  5. elana Says:

    just saw this post (i’m behind!). should i make these for thanksgiving? can i make them, freeze them and defrost them?

Leave a Reply

