Archive for September 12th, 2009

august recipe: ice cream sandwiches

September 12, 2009


Williams Sonoma Ice Cream Sandwich kit

 

 

Williams Sonoma Ice Cream Sandwich kit

 

My August recipes were a total bust and left me feeling like a bit of a tool. I could write at length about it but that would probably be a pretty boring post. Suffice to say I didn’t give the recipes much thought until the final days of the month. I quickly narrowed my slim pickings down to three recipes and went shopping… more problems arose and in the end I only made one recipe.

The recipe I ended up making was by Williams-Sonoma. Back in December I picked up an ice cream sandwich kit that was on sale and just screamed of cuteness. The kit included a brownie recipe along with cookie cutters to make a cowboy boot, a sherif badge and of course that all too necessary cowboy hat. Upon my first assembly of an ice cream cookie the following comedy ensued…

ice cream sandwich flop

ice cream sandwich flop

 

Peeps.. when I pushed the ice cream out of the mold this is what I got.. clearly my ice cream was too soft.

Now, I’m all about honesty so here’s the deal. I managed to assemble one more cookie after the above that came out way better but it wasn’t perfect. That’s when I quickly got over my desire to perfect an August recipe and didn’t attempt to assemble anything else.

As for the taste, it was “ehh.” I don’t know if it was the ice cream or the brownies (I think it was the brownie) but something had a menthol taste (to me at least). I would have preferred a more sweet tasting “cookie” i.e. brownie. My husband said the ratio of cookie to ice cream was off and he would have preferred the brownies to be thinner. I get what he is saying and completely agree… BUT at the thickness I had made the brownies I was having trouble keeping them intact. If I ever dare to make these again I’ll use a different recipe for the base of my cookie.

 

brownies using the WS recipe

brownies using the WS recipe

finished recipe - ice cream sandwich made with brownie "cookies"

finished recipe - ice cream sandwich made with brownie "cookies"

If anyone else has gotten a WS Ice Cream Sandwich kit I would love to hear the outcome of their attempts.