home decor: graycen’s nursery

Graycen's Nursery 

 

Graycen's Nursery

I was one of those expecting mothers who was told to prepare for the arrival of a little girl but ended up with a little boy. Talk about the shock of your life!

The arrival of a little boy put a damper on some of our plans but thankfully the mix up didn’t pose an issue for the nursery decor. Blue has been my favorite decor color since I moved into my first apartment so our nursery was always set to be blue as well – regardless of gender. However, to feminize it a bit I had decided to use deep cranberry red as my accent color with a few small touches of granny apple green. I think a deep red is the perfect compliment to pale blue. As you will see, despite the baby gender mix-up we lucked out in the end. I think the room works perfectly for a little boy just as it would have if Graycen had been born a girl. I hope you enjoy it just as much as we do.

  

The Look: fresh and simple with touches of modern

The Materials: white woods, cotton and felt

The Decor: pale blue walls accented by cranberry reds and granny apple greens

The Theme: polka dots 

 

Because of limited space we decided to utilize the large window sill as a shelf rather then trying to cram the room with a bookcase. The window sill is covered in a felt cranberry runner that is monogramed and has contrasting stitch in a pale blue. My mother who is a phenomenal seamstresses did all our runners as well as the bedskirt.  

window sill

window sill

window sill details: books in english and spanish

window sill details: books in english and spanish

window sill: graycen's first walking shoes

window sill details: graycen's first walking shoes

 

window sill details: first birthday hat, piggy bank and mommy books

window sill details: first birthday hat, piggy bank and mommy books

 

 

Graycen’s room is one of our more completed rooms but there are still a few things that need tending to. You can see in this photo that he has plastic shades that literally attache to your window with sticky tap. We got them upon first moving into our home with the intentions of replacing them in the near  future. We have fancy shades throughout the rest of our house but these $5 shades are the only ones that get the space pitch black.. and thus they are still with us three years later. In these photos you can also see some of the polka dot inspiration.

artwork and shelves

artwork and shelves

box pleat bedskirt with pale blue pom-poms

box pleat bedskirt with pale blue pom-poms

polka dot canisters and my grandfathers dominos

polka dot canisters and my grandfathers dominos

 

Most mothers will probably agree that when you have your first child there is so much stuff you need. It’s rather overwhelming. Financially my head was spinning so to help accommodate our wallets we took a lot of things that I had been hanging onto and found ways to use them in Graycen’s room. Things we did included resalvaging our own bedroom dresser that was set to be discarded. At some point I brilliantly decided we would sand and repaint it. I splurged on new knobs and ended up with the perfect dresser/changing station. A basket that was used at our wedding to hold programs was recycled into a diaper caddy. It’s so special to see these things that were once mine now a part of my sons life. I highly encourage all new mothers to do this. 

graycen's dresser/changing station

graycen's dresser/changing station

graycen's first kimono hangs on the side of his changing table

graycen's first kimono hangs on the side of his changing table

fabric details on the kimono (reds, blues and greens)

fabric details on the kimono (reds, blues and greens)

 

The End. 

graycen's hamper

graycen's hamper

Tags: , , , , , ,

9 Responses to “home decor: graycen’s nursery”

  1. granada Says:

    Gorgeous nursery!!

  2. ericka Says:

    I have always LOVED G’s nursery, Rebecca… it’s so perfectly done, seriously. that pompom trim gets me every time 🙂

  3. beautifuliving Says:

    Aww thanks ladies. As a little girl my mother would design and sew my curtains. I always had pom-pom fringe which made me really want to figure out a way to include it in my own childs room.

  4. kristin Says:

    You know I love it but I’ll say it agaim. simply beautiful.

    and that wallpaper…oy…gorgie.

  5. Bev Says:

    Sigh, it is all so lovely!

  6. Lindsey Says:

    Love it, Rebecca. So pretty, and will grow with him.

  7. beautifuliving Says:

    Thanks. I don’t think you ever posted A’s nursery.

  8. SAJ Says:

    New to your blog. Found you via Inglin Photography. I love your sons nursery. So serene and fresh. What a lucky little boy! I never thought about pairing a cool blue with apply green but this gives me inspiration for my own room.

  9. home decor: transition into a toddler space « Says:

    […] can see the before nursery photos here but basically what I ended up having to do was to move Graycen’s crib so that it’s […]

Leave a Reply

