home decor: books

For a while there I had to take the train into work. If you recall this post then you might remember that I much prefer the bus. But things came up and my need to take the slightly shorter commute was necessary. Well, this week I have managed to take my beloved city bus into work again. It’s crazy how much I miss my early morning sight seeing. How quickly window displays change and new things pop up.

While traveling crosstown today, the bus stopped at a red light on 59th and Fifth Avenue. For several minutes we sat in traffic. My thoughts left me as I began to take in the beautiful rhythm of the window washers arm swaying back and forth as he skillfully washed the window. There’s a technique if you weren’t aware and if you’ve never taken the time to really study a washer in action I suggest you do. The way they move their arm up and down and back in forth in a figure eight motion is – ingenuous. In seconds they have a perfectly clean window with no streaks, no lines, no watermarks. It seems all so simple. The whole scene is just a delight to take, like a dance between the hand, the wrist, the pull of the squeegee. As everything slides from one direction to the next there’s a twist, a turn, a spin. It’s that simple beauty.

 

Downtown Chic: Designing Your Dream Home: From Wreck to Ravishing

Downtown Chic: Designing Your Dream Home: From Wreck to Ravishing

 

But what I really wanted to mention was the banner hanging in the window of the Rizzoli Bookstore that caught my eye. I saw it three days in a row and always thought “I must Google that as soon as I log in at work.” It wasn’t until today when the banner was gone that I realized I hadn’t Googled that book – Downtown Chic. I finally got around to that today and I’m so happy I did. What had initially caught my eye was the large pom-pom style light fixture in the image but the reviews have me realizing I need to get this book for so many more reasons.

If you’ve checked it out, please let me know. And if you want to read more about the authors there was a good write up on All the Best: A Passport to Stylish Living.

And if anyone knows more about this piece of art, please spill!

 

decor by Sixx Design

decor by Sixx Design

Tags: , , , ,

One Response to “home decor: books”

  1. The Sale Rack Says:

    downtown chic looks great…will have to buy that

Leave a Reply

