flower school

I’ve been meaning to write more about my floral class at Red Rose and Lavender but time has escaped me.

If anyone recalls, I had mentioned I was taking two floral classes. The first was to be on French arrangements. I hadn’t a clue what that meant but it sounded lovely. Well, I was a bit surprised when I showed up at my first class and on the table was a small vase that resembled concrete. Like sidewalk concrete! But it gets better. Peeking out of the concrete was one flower. One single flower people?! Now, I’m not one for confrontation so I just stood there and thought – WTF? I mean, did I just pay money to learn how to put one flower in a vase? As much as I wanted to say something I just smiled and made small talk. All the while I had to wonder if there was some way I could get my money back. Again, come on, a vase with one flower peeking out? But stay with me and keep reading.

Eventually the class starts and that’s when the teacher explains that today’s class has been changed and we would now be learning the art form of Ikebana. A lot of information was given to us and then the single flower on the table began to take shape into something else. It would be too hard for me to explain the art of Ikebana arranging so here is a small informational from Zen Images:

Ikebana, the Japanese art of flower arranging, originated during the 6th century in Japan with the introduction of Buddhism from China. It was the custom to place floral offerings in front of altars to honor the Buddha and the souls of the dead. Over time, these floral offerings evolved into floral arrangements designed to express the harmony between man and nature and between spirit and matter. By the 13th century, the practice of Ikebana became a form of meditation for Zen Buddhist priests. In 1927, a radical new approach to Ikebana was launched by Sofu Teshigahara, the late founder of the Sogetsu School. Teshigahara broke with rigid classical rules and emphasized the artist’s freedom of expression. He said, “Ikebana is not just about sticking a flower into a vase: it is about the love and need of the artist to create beautiful forms.”

It ended up being a really wonderful class. I think it was the perfect first class for me and as someone who greatly appreciates art I found Ikebana to have a similar attraction. Hard to explain but in Ikebana a lot of focus is placed on the look of a stem or the movement of a branch. It’s truly beautiful. And if you are into Asian Minimalist I think you’ll love this style. It’s simple and graceful. And it requires a lot of thought and patience.

I pulled these images from this blog dedicated to Ikebana arrangements so show you how the masters do it.

image via zen-images

image via zen-images

image via zen-images

image via zen-images

image via zen-images

image via zen-images

Now my Ikebana arrangment didn’t look anything like those. 🙂 It ended up being a branch with a few ranunculus sticking out of a concrete vase but I loved it and I think it looked pretty nice. Here is the only image I have from that arrangment. You can see a bit of the concrete vase at the bottom that I used. I was smitten over the concept of this beautiful flower with this unique stem popping up of something so sleep and almost cold.

first floral class

first floral class

The second class was lovely as well. We focused on Low and Lush flower designs. I was so proud of my final arrangment. I loved everything about it.. the colors, my flower choices, the texture of the different items. I know I’ve already posted an image of my arrangement but here go some additional shots that I took. I used mostly ranunculus, which I’ve loved since seeing my first arrangement with this flower in Martha Stewart Weddings.

my low and lush arrangment from flower class, detail shot

my low and lush arrangment from flower class, detail shot

my low and lush floral arrangment

my low and lush floral arrangment

Floral Class Two - Large Image

low and lush floral arrangment

Aren’t those colors amazing! I had so much fun taking these classes and meeting some great girls.  It makes me realize I need to be doing more. As full as my life is, there is room for me to keep learning new things.

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

