found via flickr

If you know me then you know I’m a sucker for good photography. My father was a professional photographer in the Air Force so I spent my youth in many a dark rooms. I presume that’s where my love for images began. As an adult I am still mesmerized by beautiful photography and I often dream of being so talented.

And now that I’m all grown up with money of my own I’ve come to enjoy having my life documented in professional photos. It’s not that I think so much of myself. It’s not that at all. But I do imagine that some day, decades from now, my great-great grandchildren will be fumbling through old photos in a tattered box and wonder about the woman in the images. About her life and the person she was. About the child on her lap or the husband by her side. And because of that I love old photos that are worn but loved so much that someone kept them around. I love photos full of vibrant colors. I love images in black and white. I love photos with character and even those on the humorous side. I want my life to be documented in all these ways. When I exit this world I want to leave behind a box of my life and I hope that someone will take care of those images for decades to come.

This morning I stumbled upon photos from Heather Evans Smith via my flickr roll. I lover her style, very fresh and witty. If I lived in North Carolina I would so be booking this girl. Definitely check her out.

Photo by Heather Evans Smith

Photo by Heather Evans Smith

Photo by Heather Evans Smith

Photo by Heather Evans Smith

Photo by Heather Evans Smith

Photo by Heather Evans Smith

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

