green thumb, brown thumb

viva terra: recycled glass terrarium

viva terra: recycled glass terrarium

viva terra: succulent cube garden
viva terra: succulent cube garden

 

I don’t have a green thumb. In fact, I kill any plant I purchase which is a problem since I’ve always wanted to accessorize my home with plants. I keep hearing about plants for dummies that apparently you can’t kill. Really? Such a thing exists? So when I hear people tell me about these plants I jot down the name and do a Google search. Usually I find that most of these plants are not pretty.. or fun to look at. Sure, I would like to fill my home with a few plants but not ugly plants!

Well this year I’ve gone on a hunt and discovered succulents as well as terrariums. Domino magazine has a How-to Guide on terrariums that has gotten me all excited. And if you aren’t in the know about succulents (images above) apparently they are air plants and only require an occasional misting. No real watering involved. Now this is a plant I can get down with. And they come in a few varieties and colors. Very urban-modern and look like they can add a bit of texture to a room. Perhaps my dilemma is now solved. We’ll see as I think I will make this my summer project.

If anyone wants to suggest any other plants before I start my project I’m all ears. Just don’t suggest anything that is ugly. I don’t want a home filled with unattractive plants. You know, the kind that grow endlessly with leaves that people then wrap around the wall. Blah!

domino magazine: terrariums

domino magazine: terrariums

domino magazine: terrariums

domino magazine: terrariums

Tags: , , ,

One Response to “green thumb, brown thumb”

  1. ramada Says:

    let us know which plant you choose. i actually liked cactus until i ended up with a whole handful of splinters that I could not remove even with glue..

Leave a Reply

