fashion and film

Acolyte Films - Valentino: The Last Emeror; Photo by Lorenzo Agius/Contour by Getty Images

Acolyte Films - Valentino: The Last Emeror; Photo by Lorenzo Agius/Contour by Getty Images

 

Last night I had the pleasure of going to see Valentino: The Last Emperor. It’s a documentary following Valentino in the last two years leading up to his retirement from Haute Couture. If I had to describe the film in one word it would be – charming.

And it simply was charming! From the gorgeous dresses to the perfect French and Italian accents. It almost made me want to learn another language. And there were five of the most adorable pugs which almost made me want a dog. And the bickering between Valentino and his partner Giancarlo Giammetti. Even that was delightful to witness. I can only hope that after 45 years of being with my husband we can be as smitten as they were.

After the film I walked to the subway with my dear friend chatting and laughing. The night was winding down and even though the cinema was rather far from home I managed to get to my hood pretty quickly. And then… it was back to reality. The lyrics to Eminem’s song Lose Yourself began to ring in my head.

Snap back to reality, Oh there goes gravity…

And with that, off I went into the evening night to search for diapers and wipes. It was my last errand before ending a lovely day.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

