the long weekend

Before this week escapes me I need to recap the long weekend that just past.

This month I was a bit lost on what recipe I would test out. I was open to anything and being that open provided far too many options. This simple task turned into a bit of a chore then one afternoon I found myself searching the pages of Ree Drummond’s blog, wonderfully titled – Pioneer Woman. I only discovered her site recently and I love all her photos. Then, the very next day a friend mentions that they had tested one of her recipes and were very pleased with the end result. To quote them, they actually said “really really really really good.” With four “really’s” I knew I had my recipe and with that I made Ranch Chicken for Valentines Day. I paired it with roasted red potatoes and buttered corn.

My husband who is easy to please and always thankful and equally excited to get a meal gave it a “really good. ” He was originally undecided if he liked it better then January’s recipes but after much thought he declared that this was better. Ultimately he would be happy if I made any of these recipe’s again. I’m going with “it was good.” The meal was lovely, I enjoyed it and would be happy to eat it again. The potatoes were divine though I did not use a recipe per se when making them. They hail from a method I saw the Barefoot Contessa use.

For now I am still on the hunt for that something new that is simply stop-in-your-tracks-delicious.

Image from Pioneer Woman

Image from Pioneer Woman

Ranch chicken, roated potatoes and corn

End Result: Ranch chicken, roated red potatoes and corn

 

While on the topic of recipes, I just came across these two options for cupcakes with peanut butter frosting. It’s something I’ve never had but am very eager to try making (and tasting). I just need to convince my nutritionist that this is somehow good for me.

Barefoot Contessa, Chocolate Cupcakes with Peanut Butter Icing, Photo by Quentin Bacon

Barefoot Contessa, Chocolate Cupcakes with Peanut Butter Icing, Photo by Quentin Bacon

 

 

Martha Stewart, Peanut Butter Cupcakes with Peanut Butter Frosting and Jelly

Martha Stewart, Peanut Butter Cupcakes with Peanut Butter Frosting and Jelly

Last Sunday we went to Wave Hill which is a public garden and cultural center in the Bronx. We arrived a bit late and missed the paper making class but it was fun nonetheless. I’d like to return in the spring when the flowers are in bloom and the grass is green. I’m sure it’s spectacular that time of year.

Wave Hill

Wave Hill, February 2009

Graycen at Wave Hill
Graycen at Wave Hill

 

Ms. Nat, if you are reading this – in the photo above Graycen is wearing the pants you got him. We do love them.

Happy weekend hunting everyone!

Rebecca

Tags: , , , ,

2 Responses to “the long weekend”

  1. Cousin Says:

    Graycen is my favorite second cousin. 🙂 I must have a date with him before Corey and I leave.

    Please pass on the recipe for the chicken…it sure does look divine.

  2. beautifuliving Says:

    Actually, in the post if you click on the word Ranch Chicken it will take you to the recipe. I ended up with a large batch and frozen a large amount in the seasonings. It was so delish when I cooked it up a week later. Better then the first batch. It’s a bit sweet like a BBQ chicken without the heavyness of the BBQ sauce.

    Emailing you to figure out when you’re leaving.

Leave a Reply

