home decor: more pink talk

Months ago I came across a photograph of what appears to be fuchsia smoke. I spotted this photograph via Habitually Chic. Since that time I’ve thought a lot about this image. I can’t help but to be drawn into it.

Smoke 14 by Mark Elverson found via Habitually Chic

Smoke 14 by Mark Elverson found via Habitually Chic

 

When you come into my home, and pass through our entryway, you slip past our hallway before entering into our main living space. That hallway leads to our bedrooms and guest bathroom. At the end is our master bedroom. It’s a rather short hallway. As you pass through, if you quickly glimpse to the side, you see into our room. When you do so you see deep colored walls painted charcoal grey and a stark white dresser. I’ve begun to contemplate changing our room around. I haven’t taken measurements but I wonder, and I hope, that with some manipulation I might be able to fit a working desk where my dresser presently stands. It would be my space to craft and wrap and think. I am not particularly found of McMansion homes but the one thing I wish I did have was a gift wrapping room. I don’t foresee myself ever owning a large home but I’d still love an open space to craft and roll out ribbons and papers. And if this were to happen I’d love a beautiful chair draped in custom fabric. Above that chair would hang an equally beautiful piece of art. I have a great fondness for photography and I particularly love the image Smoke 14 because it draws me in and it adds that burst of unexpected color I like. Paired with my grey walls I think it would look lovely. If I did follow through with this new arrangement then a pale pink closet would be a nice touch. Almost as if the fuchsia smoke photography is a foreshadowing of what lies behind my closet door. With that said, the door leading into our walk-in closet is always open and I’m not entirely certain I want to always stare into a pink room.

I don’t want to sound crazy or annoying but I’m just thinking this through on all aspects. I purchased a sketch for my master bathroom about two years back. I really wanted the image and it was only being sold as a set of four sketches. So I bought all four in an effort to get the one I wanted. The sketches came framed and two sit in the back of my closet, stored away. Both are pink and it would be nice to hang them side by side in my closet on pale pink walls. The frames are ornate and bit much for me but I can see them being a burst of sweetness that you walk into every morning.

At this point my husband says he doesn’t care. He’s pretty certain he won’t notice them… or the pink walls.

This weekend while leafing through my Living Etc. magazine I came across the most sumptuous blue paint. I could slather that on my closet walls without batting an eye. I haven’t mentioned it but I’m such a sucker for blue. I have four blue rooms and in a two bedroom home that’s more then half our place. When I put it that way it makes the pink sound more appealing.

Mark Elverson
Habitually Chic
U Gallery

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

