lists

I woke up this morning
Feeling brand new
‘Cause the dreams that I’ve been dreaming
Have finally came true
Yea, I woke up this morning
Feeling alright

 Will-i-am, It’s a New Day, 2008

The chorus of this song keeps running through my head. It’s a new day, It’s a new daaaayyyy! And I do feel that way. I can only hope that this energy stays with me through the course of the year.

I’m self diagnosed OCD. Funny to me but not so funny to my husband. I’m neurotic, particular and sometimes irrational. I don’t count cracks in the pavement or have a ritual for washing my hands. I’m just easily fixated. Right now I’m running a lot of lists in my head. In part I know it’s my eagerness to make something of the New Year but I also have an internal need to accomplish more. I’m not looking to discover something or to become CEO of a company. Those are great aspirations… but, they aren’t mine. Rather, my ambitions focus on the happiness of myself and my family. I want my son to look back when he’s 30 and say he’s had a good life, a childhood that was happy and joy filled. That he has a remarkable mother who did good things. I want him to see me do those things which I enjoy most and in turn seek out the things that he loves. I want him to know that the world is his and I want him to have the confidence to step forth and take it.

That confidence is something my husband and I talk about often; our hopes to not stifle him. Not only do we want him to believe that the world is his, we want him to know that the world is his.

These are my current lists.

Personal Wellbeing
1. Bake more (once a month)
2. Test out new recipes (once a month)
3. Create, craft and be imaginative
4. Host a gathering
5. Take more ridiculous photos (3)

Motherhood
6. Teach my son good manors
7. Absorb, soak up, take in the small moments
8. Be still, have fun
9. Celebrate something (once a month)

Home
10. Change door handles throughout the house
11. Update at least one light fixture
12. Save for kitchen remodel
13. Get quotes on wiring living room and master bedroom for lighting
14. Customize our walk in closet

take one

ridiculous photo, take one: my husband and i

 

 

Tags: , , ,

3 Responses to “lists”

  1. Alicia Says:

    Please tell me there are more of these! I love how Fred is reading a baking book!
    You are doing such a wonderful job on this whole site! Thanks for the laughs and insights. Who knew (ok, maybe I did)?

    Alicia

  2. lists revisited « Says:

    […] in January I did a post called Lists. As conscious as I am that there is more for me to do it’s easy to get lost in the rat race. […]

  3. the end and the begining « Says:

    […] so proud to say that I accomplished most of what I set out to do this year. And so much of what I did I want to do again in this new year. I want to keep baking and […]

Leave a Reply

